This month’s book is The Leader’s Checklist by Michael Useem.  As anyone who has ever been around me or one of my courses knows, I am a huge proponent in checklist.  I believe checklist are the keys to success, not just in business but in our personal lives.  Useem gives a lot of powerful insight in a relatively short book.

Leaders, especially leaders in the emergency services and emergency management, need system to make sure that it gets done and that it gets done right.  More importantly, this book also gives the principles to “good” leadership, not “easy” management.  Anyone can be a manager, but people will only follow “leaders.”  Leaders are those that can make the hard “right” decisions for the right reasons.

If you get a chance to read this informative and excellent book and you want to discuss or send me your thoughts, please send me an email at duane.hagelgans@millersville.edu

